Your Who’s Who Nomination: Scam Emails

by R MAK on October 8, 2008 · 8 comments

in Really Interesting

 

Spammers and Con Artists are getting more and more shrewd in their methods and designs. We have all seen the Nigerian Email Scam, but this one is brand new. The con artist is after the personal information and probably is trying to fish some big ones in it’s net. Following is the email I received tonight.

The Subject of Email is Your Who’s Who Nomination

From field shows Who’s Who Headquarters [FO-Forb@statcamp.com] as sender.

Header Details are as following (incase some one wants to run a trace)

Return-Path: <bounce@statcamp.com>
Received: from mta10.statcamp.com [72.5.17.236] by server.parent-server.net with SMTP;
Tue, 7 Oct 2008 10:14:09 -0700
Received: by mta10.statcamp.com (PowerMTA(TM) v3.0r30) id htecea0676ol for <MANSOOR@THEHUMANTEAM.COM>; Tue, 7 Oct 2008 13:09:12 -0400 (envelope-from <bounce@statcamp.com>)
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; c=nofws; q=dns; s=key; d=statcamp.com;
b=pTKym3+CKRUGdbFiSJBShXlQzaPG1uJjxlZZoBsElSBZqSnaz3MeJKnEKrN2b9lygwaQZDuqNQDg
EwfoekBhkw==;
X-SCTN: 285273.3284124.2058416337.4432
From: “Who’s Who Headquarters” <FO-Forb@statcamp.com>
To: MANSOOR@THEHUMANTEAM.COM
Subject: Your Who’s Who Nomination
Date: Tue, 07 Oct 2008 13:09:12 -0400
Message-ID: <SSEBC2.STAT.285273.3284124.2058416337.44320810071309.SSEBC2@statcamp.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
X-SmarterMail-Spam: SPF_Pass, DK_Pass
X-SmarterMail-TotalSpamWeight: -10

Contents of Email

Dear  ,

On behalf of International WHO’S WHO of Professionals, I am pleased to inform you that you have been nominated as a candidate for inclusion in the 2008 Edition commemorating the International WHO’S WHO Historical Society’s 80th year documenting biographies on successful individuals from around the world.

We congratulate you!  Nomination into WHO’S WHO is an honor in itself.  WHO’S WHO has over 20,000 members in 154 countries worldwide.  It is the most elite professional network in the world.  Our members assist each other daily with business and career opportunities.  It is in times like these that such a network is most valuable and we are seeing members help other members expand their businesses, find new positions, even relocate to another country.

If selected into WHO’S WHO, you will also be listed in the 2008 Edition of International WHO’S WHO of Professionals.  This is the definitive work on the world’s leaders in commerce, economics, policy, and trade.

We do require additional information to complete the selection process and we ask that you provide your biographical data by accessing the form on our website at:   http://www.internationalwhoswho.com/Nominations/FE2064C.aspx

Our editorial deadline is quickly approaching.  I urge you to act today.  If you delay, I cannot guarantee the committee will have ample time to review your submission.

Sincerely,

Terrence Leifheit
Chairman and CEO
2020 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W., PMB #504
Washington, D.C. 20006

P.S. There is no cost or obligation to be listed in the International WHO’S WHO of Professionals.  To ensure your biographical data is received in time, please complete this online form http://www.internationalwhoswho.com/Nominations/FE2064C.aspx by November 15, 2008. Upon review, our Membership Selection Committee will be in touch with you.
Members of our Board of Advisors include: Wallid Abdo, CEO, Eurobrokers-Greece; Michael Gondive, CEO, Eastern and Southern African Trade and Development Bank-Kenya; Fehmi Sami, Senior VP, Citibank, N.A.-Great Britain; Yusuf Alami, COO, Abdu Dhabi Investment Company-UAE; Mikhail Zaitsev, Finance Director, Volvo Car-Russia; DR. Jung Kook Paeng, CIO, Hyundai Motor Company, Korea; John Sai Chi Mak, Managing Director, Bulova Watch International, Ltd.-Hong Kong; and Aldo Castelli, President, Shell Brasil, Ltda.-Brazil

101 B Middle Street
Jacksonville, NC  28546

Note: If you wish to unsubscribe from International WHO’S WHO of Professionals please click on the link below:

http://www.internationalwhoswho.com/unsubscribe.aspx

************************************************************************
You received this email because you are a registered member of Forbes.com .  Periodically, we will inform our members who have opted-in to receive such information of special offers and new products from third party mailers.  Forbes.com LLC does not endorse the products, services or companies mentioned in these emails. If you do not wish to be contacted with these offers any longer via email click here http://tx3.statcamp.com/optoff.aspx?2285273.3284124.2058416337.4432.0.0

Or you may write to:

Privacy Administrator
Forbes.com LLC
90 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10011

Did somebody else receive such an email?

Search Here

 

 

You might also like

Honest Lawyer
An independent woman started her own business. She was shrewd and diligent, so business kept coming in....
5 Reasons Why You Should Not Upgrade to Opera 9.5
I have been opera fan for some time now. I loved the way it looked. its speed, usability, reliability...
Microsoft is stupid: How to hack hotmail features
While trying to create a unified place to recieve emails from different domains, I discovered that...
All About Timeshare Presentations And Tips To Survive
Today an internet is connected to different places all over the world. A single mouse click can take...

{ 8 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Vinu 10.08.08 at 9:57 am

Yep – Got one like this today- It’s a scam so stay clear of it :)

Google for it :)
http://www.google.com/search?q=International+WHO%27S+WHO+of+Professionals+scam

2 Nigerian Entrepreneur 10.08.08 at 2:35 pm

I have received several of such emails. Not necessarily with the title anyway, but the aim has always been to get my response.

The emails often bear well known names, that is meant to throw me off-guard e.g. CITIBANK, ALIBABA, FORBES e.t.c.

I do not believe that it is only Nigerians that are sending such emails. Any crook in any part of the world can do same.

My advise has been and will always be IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, IT IS MOSTLY LIKELY A SCAM. So stay wise.

Nice post.

3 rafat 01.21.09 at 4:53 pm

in my opinion that Nigerians should be block over global internet net work

4 UK Media Pro 04.14.09 at 4:18 am

It’s still going, mine arrived today! Don’t I just feel honoured! The crook is actually using a professional email management system to manage his/her email lists.

5 Captain_Q 07.01.09 at 7:03 pm

I received a such today, I even thought it’s true, because I am doing something important and I know important people…loks, like some wants to get our personal data for some purposes… or so… ;)

6 R MAK 07.02.09 at 2:12 am

You are right Captain!
It seems someone is trying to build a database for targeted spam network

7 sander 01.27.10 at 2:23 am

just got one like that, and that’s how I found your article.

8 PWH 03.08.10 at 11:15 am

This Nasty just hit our shores in the Land of Smiles – Thailand.

regards,

Brewsta

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv Enabled

Previous post:

Next post: